1
jpco_122122
Creating background in the Menu!

How to create an image in the Menu? Is there a way where I can insert an image in the User Menu as it's background?

2
arpofhoef
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/4 19:41

  • arpofhoef

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 29

  • Since: 2005/12/20


Did several different searches and this was the only thing I found, but no one has answered....

I want the opposite answer to this... Is there any way to use a background image but not have it show up as the background in the menus?

3
arpofhoef
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/7 3:48

  • arpofhoef

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 29

  • Since: 2005/12/20


Does no one know how to do this?? I've searched and can't even find an existing theme that does this... Is it just impossible? If you know of a theme that uses an image for the background but not in the menus or uses different background images in the menus can you please let me know?

Thanks.

4
Xeon_DP
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/7 14:13

  • Xeon_DP

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 25

  • Since: 2005/12/11


menus have the class menuMain
search for that in the style.css in the correspondending theme folder.
add: background: #00000;
replace the 00000 by the hexadecimal code of the color you want. 00000 is black.
edit: thats for the color
image is a bit harder.

5
Will_H
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/7 16:23

  • Will_H

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1786

  • Since: 2004/10/10


Perhaps I can be a bit more extensive.

option 1) Image as backround.

This is very simple to do and there are a couple ways to do it.

technique 1: open your stylesheet and locate the reference to your menus. You will see a "backrground color : #123456" reference close by. Basically you want to end up like this
"background : <img src=http://www.yoursite.com/images/your_image.gif />

technique 2: open your style sheet and delete the "backround color : #123456" reference. save and close. open your theme.html and locate your
<td class="t_content_left"><img src="<{$xoops_imageurl}>images/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1" /></td>
insert your image here. the problem with this method is that XOOPS is designed to flex. So if the dimensions of your left block needs to change then you will need to manually adjust the image size. otherwise, I believe that you will get a repeating image in the lb loop. However if thats what you are going for, then this is fantastic. Because you simply point this td reference to your image and it will treat it as the flex pixel. Just remember to adjust the size.

option 2) Show a background image everywhere except the left block loop.

very simple, its likely that in the stylesheet you have a reference to your left blocks background... "background color : transparent" <-- Change this to "background color : #123456" < simply define your hex.

However if you do not have a "background color :" then add one in.

All in all these should atleast give you an idea of where you need to be. play around with your settings. Worst that could happen is you'd learn.

6
arpofhoef
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/7 19:58

  • arpofhoef

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 29

  • Since: 2005/12/20


Thank you!! I knew someone would know something. I will play around with these and see what I can get to work.

7
arpofhoef
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/8 2:03

  • arpofhoef

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 29

  • Since: 2005/12/20


Ok I am still stuck. I can get an image for the background using:



/* The content of the posts (body of text) */
body{background:#FF66CC;color:#330066;background-image:url('http://www.thehouseofeternalfalling.com/badges/dianrapeblinkystarbackground.gif');font:12px Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;margin:0px;padding:0;


The left menu part reads:

/* XOOPS LEFT Column Blocks Style */
td#leftcolumn {width: 160px; border-right: 1px dashed #9900FF; font-size:12px;}
td#leftcolumn th {background-color: #FFFFFF; color: #FF0066; vertical-align: middle;}
td#leftcolumn div.blockTitle { border-bottom: 1px dashed #9900FF; border-top: 1px dashed #9900FF; font-weight:bold; padding: 3px; background: #171717; color: #FF0066; vertical-align: middle; font-size:12px; }
td#leftcolumn div.blockContent {padding: 2px 0px 2px 3px; line-height: 110%; padding-left: 0px; font-size:11px;}


But the background image is still showing up over the menus.... What am I not getting?? I am using fydarkblack as a base. Thanks again!

Edit- I forgot to format

8
arpofhoef
Re: Creating background in the Menu!
  • 2006/1/9 1:51

  • arpofhoef

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 29

  • Since: 2005/12/20


I found it, thanks!

Login

Who's Online

200 user(s) are online (121 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 200


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits