hrac
XOOPS vs postnuke
  • 2003/12/8 6:44

• hrac

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2002/7/15

Hello,
Last several weeks I examined postnuke and I have some little knowledge about pn to compare with xoops:

PN advantages:

1. PN has built in WYSIWYG editor for IE and works properly.
2. PN has phpBB2 module
3. PN has LDAP integration (but I don't have time to test)
4. PN's calendar module (PostCalendar 4) is more complete than XOOPS' modules (pical, eCal, agendax)
5. PN has bigger community
6. PN developers gives more information about projects' status. There are some PN development sites (http://noc.postnuke.com) and you can see how many percentage of project is finished (http://noc.postnuke.com/top/mostactive.php?type=week). XOOPS developers gives some sarcastic answers: We will inform when it is ready or they say "My standard answer is, it will be out sometime before Harry Potter Book 6".
7. PN has customizable user registration. XOOPS will have this in version 2.1
8. PN has a very good multi-language support. You can choose a block displayed only one specific language or with all languages. You can post news with specific languages. So you can have all themes, blocks, news and some other modules dependent on language.
9. PN has better documentation
10. PN has more modules like pnFlashGames

XOOPS advantages:
1. PN doesn't have personal messaging system (or I cannot find it
2. XOOPS has better admin interface
3. I beleive XOOPS has better core
4. XOOPS has better themes, or I cannot find good PN themes
5. XOOPS seems to be faster than PN
6. XOOPS has better main menu solution like treemenuxl, or I cannot find better main menu blocks on PN

Of course I have more knowledge on XOOPS (I'm using XOOPS more than one year). Because of this I know weaknesses of XOOPS, and I don't know weaknesses of PN.

This is what I can say only a few weeks of work with PN.

thans
Re: XOOPS vs postnuke
  • 2003/12/8 8:54

• thans

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/8/29

XOOPS-advantages: