Fork me on GitHub
Get XOOPS XOOPSXOOPS FAQFAQ ForumsForums NewsNews ThemesThemes ModulesModules
New Posts New Topics All Posts All Forums Index General Modules Themes Development International XOOPS.org

Search

Donat-O-Meter

Make donations with PayPal!
Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00

Learn XOOPS Core

Local Support

Advertisement

XOOPS Code hosted on SourceForge

Cumulus Tag Cloud

- 2 2.5 2.6 3.0 4 6 2013 Abuse adslight Android AntiHarvesting AntiMalUser AntiSpam Apple Battlefield billige Blocks Bootstrap Captcha cell cent chronolabs CHUNG Clicks content CĂN demo download Dresses facebook Fat floor Food for free Gateway Guide herre Home Honeypot HP html5 Human HỘ iPhone jQuery List Loss mobile module modules Monster new newbb news NHÀ online PARK phone PHP Prevention profile project Protector publisher Rapid RESIDENCE responsive review Rights rmcommon Room security Sentry site Smartphone Smarty Smoking Spam stem Studio support tag tags tdmcreate template The Theme themes User userlog web weight xoops Xortify XPayment ZendFramework

New Users

Registering user

# 137286

draxaa

Welcome to XOOPS!




Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



#1 Posted on: 2006/11/9 6:53 hide full Xoops URL
Dear users,

I've sought this forum already for a thread like this, but 'm running a website under XOOPS @ www.popkoor2000.nl but the problem I'm facing, is the display in the internetbrowser's url-bar.

I don't want visitors to see the full url like:
http://www.popkoor2000.nl/cms/modules/wfchannel/...etc

I want this, no matter @ what page in XOOPS they are
http://www.popkoor2000.nl

It should be possible, I once read that somewhere, shoud it be something in the main header of theme-template?

Any suggestions are welcome, and NO, I won't use any <iframe> because it's very ugly and doesn't allow scrolling very nicely

Kind regards,

Stensol, The Netherlands

Top

stensol
Just popping in
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/9 6:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
(Show More) (Show Less)


#2 Posted on: 2006/11/9 10:06 Re: hide full Xoops URL
there are dhtml scripts that do this, by applying a mask to the addess bar, you find those at places like dynamicdrive and you place the code inside the theme.html

Top


www.polymorphee.com
www.xoopsdesign.com
snow77
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2003/7/23 0:17
From B612
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 813
(Show More) (Show Less)


#3 Posted on: 2006/11/13 18:02 Re: hide full Xoops URL
Dear snow77,

Thanks for your reply.

I've searched dynamicdrive for hours now, but can't find the hint you gave me, so I've asked their staff through email. I hope I'll get a reply from them, after that I'll post it @ Xoops.org.

Best regards,

Bart Stens, The Netherlands

Top

stensol
Just popping in
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/9 6:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
(Show More) (Show Less)


#4 Posted on: 2006/11/13 18:26 Re: hide full Xoops URL
Would this effect search engine listings?

Just wondering?

I imagine the search engine, like google would just see the domain, but perhaps it would still spider the site?

Any SEO expert for this?

Top


Kind Regards.
Tom

http://bassmanthemes.com
http://www.xoopslance.com
tom
Friend of XOOPS
Friend of XOOPS
Joined:
2002/9/21 13:08
From UK
Group:
BANNED Users
Posts: 1329
(Show More) (Show Less)


#5 Posted on: 2006/11/13 19:38 Re: hide full Xoops URL
I got this code we used before:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<
HTML>
<
HEAD>
<
TITLE>Your Website Title</TITLE>
<
frameset rows="100%,*" framespacing="0" border="0">
<
frame frameborder="0" name="MYTOPFRAME" src="http://localhost/xoops/" noresize="noresize" />
<
frame frameborder="0" name="MYNOFRAME" src="blank.htm" />
<
body>
</
body>
</
frameset><noframes>
</
noframes>
</
HEAD>
</
HTML>


here: src="http://localhost/xoops/ :place the path to the root of your XOOPS and it should stay masked like that

save as index.html and use same as a redirect file.


But then with what Tom said, using the SEO URL rewrite thing, wouldn't it be fancier this way?

[edit - adding more] well by coincidence I was digging into the FAQ and found that Carnuke had found the same code, it' all in this thread < HERE >

Top


www.polymorphee.com
www.xoopsdesign.com
snow77
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2003/7/23 0:17
From B612
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 813
(Show More) (Show Less)


#6 Posted on: 2006/11/14 8:07 Re: hide full Xoops URL
Thanx guys for the solutions!

I've used the <frame> and it does work also the scrolling..
I don't know yet how it will affect my Google
listings, but will see soon.

Regards,

Stensol, The Netherlands

Top

stensol
Just popping in
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/9 6:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
(Show More) (Show Less)


#7 Posted on: 2006/11/14 18:19 Re: hide full Xoops URL
I just think I remember reading about this somewhere once before, maybe a couple of years ago, which is why I ask about search engine indexing, I'm no expert and as I mentioned I seem to rememeber reading something saying that it would.

The SEO URL option on the other hand, I believe helps a sites listings a fair bit.

Again no expert.

Let me know if it does, you could always keep an eye with google using their webmaster tools/stats, I find them useful.

Top


Kind Regards.
Tom

http://bassmanthemes.com
http://www.xoopslance.com
tom
Friend of XOOPS
Friend of XOOPS
Joined:
2002/9/21 13:08
From UK
Group:
BANNED Users
Posts: 1329
(Show More) (Show Less)


#8 Posted on: 2006/11/14 19:50 Re: hide full Xoops URL
I did this a few years ago with http://advermap.com/ to hide the url...

I think that from a SEO standpoint, it won't hurt you that much, as long as you have links on each of your pages that link back to another page...say, like a discreet link "home" at the bottom of each page...you just have to allow links to all your pages so that search engine spiders can crawl through your entire site...

a site map page, with links to all the site pages and a link from the index.php page would probably be a good idea as well...

i think a bigger issue is what happens when the user wants to bookmark that particlur page...it won't work with frames or an iframe...you will have to put a "bookmark this page" link on each separate page of your site.

Top

jeffgr
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Joined:
2004/2/22 2:21
From Ottawa, Canada
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 227
(Show More) (Show Less)







You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You can vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.
You cannot use topic type.
You cannot use HTML syntax.
You cannot use signature.

[Advanced Search]