ccphui ccphui
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2006/4/26 0:01
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 7
  • Posted on: 2006/4/27 1:59
How to set phpmyadmin prompt for login name and password ? #1
Hi,

I have installed the phpmyadmin and everytime I go to the page,
it will automatically use 'root' user as default login.
I know that this is very unsecure, since everyone can go into
my MySQL thourgh my URL + /phpmyadmin.

So anyone can tell me how to change setting to prompt for
the login name and password everytime the page is being
visited.

Thanks.

Philip Hui.
xuser xuser
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2002/11/26 8:16
  • From Beijing / China
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 73
  • Posted on: 2006/4/27 2:55
Re: How to set phpmyadmin prompt for login name and password ? #2
set the auth_type to http in you config file of phpmyadmin
ccphui ccphui
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2006/4/26 0:01
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 7
  • Posted on: 2006/4/27 21:18
Re: How to set phpmyadmin prompt for login name and password ? #3
Can you show me the exact me of the config file ?

MySQL version 4.1.15
phpMyAdmin version 2.7.0-pl2

Everytime I click to the page(i.e. http://<myhost>/phpMyAdmin),
it will show up the following without asking for login :-

MySQL version 4.1.15 in localhost, login as root@localhost
xuser xuser
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2002/11/26 8:16
  • From Beijing / China
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 73
  • Posted on: 2006/4/27 22:48
Re: How to set phpmyadmin prompt for login name and password ? #4
my phpmyadmin version is 2.6.4-pl3

the config file is config.inc.php

and the exact line is :
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type']     = 'http';      // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user']          = 'root';      // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password']      = '';          // MySQL password (only needed
                                                    // with 'config' auth_type)
How to effectively post a question in the Xoops forums? - Read here...
Design by: XOOPS UI/UX Team